How to remove the password from ZoneAlarm version 10.x and above.

The following directions are for ZoneAlarm 10.x and above and Windows XP systems.

The ONLY way to remove a ZoneAlarm password that is forgotten, corrupted, or will not work is to remove the database files associated with TrueVector, as follows.

Please note that this will remove your program permissions and Trusted Zone settings (so you may want to make note of them), but re-establishing them is a simple process; you will be prompted again for program access for all the applications that you use to access the local network or Internet.

First we need to boot into Safe Mode, please follow these steps to do so.

  1. Power down your computer.
  2. Start the system, and immediately begin tapping the 'F8' key once every second.
  3. You will get a startup menu; choose 'Safe Mode' by using the up/down arrow keys.
  4. Press Enter.

Once you have booted into Safe Mode, please continue.

  1. Click Start > My Computer
  2. Click Tools, Folder Options, View Tab
  3. Place a dot next to "Show Hidden Files and Folders", click OK
  4. Double-click your C: drive, probably called Local Disk C:
  5. Double-click on the Documents & Settings folder
  6. Double-click on the All Users folder
  7. Double-click on the Application Data folder
  8. Double-click on the CheckPoint folder
  9. Double-click on the ZoneAlarm folder
  10. Double-click on the Data folder
  11. Please delete the following files here:
    - Backup.ndb
    - Iamdb.ndb
  12. Close this window, then right-click and empty the recycle bin
  13. Clear the registry entry with the steps below:
    • Go to Start -> Run
    • Type in regedit and press OK
    • On the left find HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE. Click on the plus next to this and make it a minus.
    • Find the SOFTWARE folder; click on the plus and make it a minus
    • Find the Zone Labs folder; click on the plus and make it a minus
    • Find the TrueVector folder; click on the plus and make it a minus
    • Find the Store folder; click on it
    • On the right, locate and left click on the 'upwval' entry
    • Press delete and then say yes to the alert that pops up
  14. Close this window, then restart the computer normally. Be sure to answer any configuration screens you may receive once your system has restarted
¿Tiene más preguntas? Enviar una solicitud

0 Comentarios

Inicie sesión para dejar un comentario.

Contacto

Más de 90,000,000 usuarios en todo el mundo